Advancing Manufacturing Technology

Reuse and Recycling Metrics, Phase 2

Project Leader:  Wayne Rifer (Green Electronics Council)







Project Leader:
Wayne Rifer (Green Electronics Council)








Project Leader:  Lisa Dender (IBM)

 

 

 

Interested in the Metric Tool?

The reuse and recycling metric tool described by the presentations and articles below is being developed for industry use.  Please click here if you would like to be a beta tester to help us ensure this tool meets industry needs, or if you are interested in using the tool once development is completed. If you have any questions, please email project manager Mark Schaffer (marks@inemi.org).


End-of-Project Webinar

This webinar is open to members and non-members. Register below for the session you wish to attend. 

Session 1 - The Americas / EMEA
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
     8:00 - 9:30 a.m. PST (North America)
     11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. EST (North America)
     5:00 - 6:30 p.m. CET (Central Europe)
Register here for Session 1 

Session 2 - APAC / The Americas
Thursday, January 24, 2019
     10:00 - 11:30 a.m. CST (China)
     11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. JST (Japan) 
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
      6:00 - 7:30 p.m. PST (North America) 
      9:00 - 10:30 p.m. EST (North America) 
Register here for Session 2 

The Reuse and Recycling Metrics team will be presenting their proof of concept metric.  If you can't measure it, you can't manage it — this metric gives you the ability to do both.  
 
This metric can be used to assess the end of life impacts at the design and material choice stage in product development such that manufacturers can make more informed decisions before a product is ever actually manufactured. The metric tool examines not only the impact of design choice and the material selection but also the economic value of what can be recovered (from reuse or recycling). The recovery readiness in the regions of the world where products are being sold is also part of the metric — you can have an excellent product design but if the region where the product is sold has no way of recovering the product, the manufacturer should be aware of that.
 
Join us for the end-of-project webinar where the team will review the metric and what is next for the project as well as how you can assist in improving the metric going forward. 

Presentations & Publications

Project Statement and Statement of Work

Background

  • A mass based reusability and recyclability rate:
    • Depends on data which is not readily available (BoM, RRR rates)
    • Does not specify the costs/revenues of reuse and recycling
    • Does not specify the ability to practically separate and liberate the components and materials

Project Objectives

  • Identify design measure to improve material choice, material and component liberation (materials + liberation + circular economy impacts)
  • Identify product-related cost factors influencing economic feasibility of reuse and recycling
  • Identify weighing factors
  • Get ahead of regulation
  • Develop a metric system that can be applied to different electronic products

Project Focus

  • To develop a scoring system (qualitative/semi-quantitative) which assesses the ability – economic feasibility and physical practicality – to separate and liberate the materials from ICT products (product category specific).
  • To develop a weighing factor which quantifies the quality of the reused and recycled materials (exergy, cumulated energy demand, price, environmental impact).
  • To develop a product end of life value score (includes reuse and recycling) – 3 tier scope of material choice, product design and regional recovery factors (what is the net value of the design/material and need choices).
  • Investigate and engage with key standards or similar organizations to promote the use of our findings.

Previous Phase

Steps for Joining the Project

Please note: iNEMI membership is required to participate in this project sign-up.  Initial sign-up has ended, but you can still join the project with team consent.  Steps for joining the project follow.

For iNEMI members:

  • Complete and sign the project statement
  • Fax the completed statement(s) to +1 (703) 834-2735 or scan and email to infohelp@inemi.org
For non-members:

For Additional Information

Mark Schaffer
marks@inemi.org