Advancing Manufacturing Technology

Event Calendar

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Warpage Characteristics of Organic Packages Project, EOP Webinar- Session 1

Start Date: 9/18/2019 9:00 AM EDT
End Date: 9/18/2019 10:00 AM EDT

Location:
United States 


Session 1 (Americas and EMEA) 
Wednesday, September 18
9:00 am EST
3:00 pm CEST
Please click here to register

Session 2 (APAC) 
Friday, September 20
9:00 am CST
10:00 am JST
To register for Session 2, click here
 
The Warpage Characteristics of Organic Packages project was organized to assess warpage evaluation criteria for organic packages assembled to printed circuit boards. Many organizations experience improperly formed solder joints due to warpage issues. Package component and system board manufacturers work diligently to establish warpage characteristics, but the methods being used are not adequately preventing surface mount yield issues, and this inadequacy of the existing evaluation criteria is a risk to volume manufacturing and field reliability. Phases 1-3 provided significant insights into the dynamic warpage behavior of different package technologies, evaluating how packages can react differently to temperature. Phase 4 expanded the type of packages studied for warpage characteristics. In this latest phase, the project team:
 

  • Continued to characterize dynamic warpage of new package technologies (SiP, embedded, multi-chip packages, etc.)
  • Studied the impact of low-temperature solder reflow profiles on dynamic warpage to mitigate risk of warpage-caused defects
  • Used simulation software to derive a modeling approach that could better predict dynamic warpage.
Among other topics, this end-of-project webinar will report on the team’s comparison of simulation results from different finite element analysis (FEA) tools with actual package warpage behavior and discuss the complexity of applying multi-physic simulation capabilities to enable electronic packaging of the future.