Advancing Manufacturing Technology

Event Calendar

Wednesday, March 27, 2019

Session 2 Webinar: Call for Participation - Conformal Coating Evaluation for Improved Environmental Protection (APAC)

Start Date: 3/27/2019 10:00 AM JST
End Date: 3/27/2019 11:00 AM JST

Location:
China 

Session 2: For APAC
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
9:00 am, China Time  
10:00 am, Japan Standard Time

Click here to register for Session 2

Electronic hardware can be susceptible to corrosion and electrochemical migration (ECM) related failures in geographies with high concentrations of gaseous and particulate contamination. For electronics run in such environment, conformal coating may be necessary to prevent corrosion of PCBs and the components mounted on them. Conformal coatings are presently tested by determining the time to failure of conformally coated surface-mounted resistors. While the test has been successful in ensuring use of very reliable resistors, however it has disadvantages such as non-representative testing environment.

The test duration can be many months which is too long to be a practical test. Supply chain disruption to a manufacturing process requires a quick test. iNEMI is launching a project to develop a conformal coating evaluation test based on quantitative measurement of diffusion of corrosive gases and moisture through the conformal coatings, with a test duration of less than a week, as a function of temperature and humidity in an environment containing sulfur and chlorines gases.

Now the project is calling for participation. Please find more by joining one of the webinars suits your time zone.

Session 1: For NA and EMEA time zones
Date: Monday, March 25, 2019
11:00 am, EST 
16:00, CET

Click here to register