Advancing Manufacturing Technology

Event Calendar

Wednesday, October 9, 2019

Call for Participation: Back End Commonality for Advanced Packaging: Large Form Factor - Session 2 (APAC)

Start Date: 10/9/2019 10:00 AM EDT
End Date: 10/9/2019 11:00 AM EDT

Location:
China 

Session 2 (APAC) 
October 9, 2019
9:00 a.m. CST (China)
10:00 a.m. JST (Japan)
Click here to register

Session 1 (Americas and EMEA)
October 8, 2019
11:00 a.m. EDT (US)
5:00 p.m. CEST (Europe)
Click here to register 

The emergence of advanced electronics packaging and adoption of heterogeneous integration and system-in-package (SiP), is leading to development of larger packages, which poses unique challenges in semiconductor assembly (chip-to-package) as well as PCB assembly (package-to-board).

Most new packages must go through a development and new product introduction process with expensive tooling and non-recurring engineering costs that add substantially to the cost of the product. Leveraging commonality to optimize back end manufacturing (package assembly and test) is key for operational efficiency.

iNEMI’s Back End Commonality for Advanced Packaging: Large Form Factor project plans to identify and demonstrate potential commonality opportunities that are beneficial for all parties. Initially, the team will address key technology gaps for assembling advanced packages with large form factors. In particular, they will focus on defining large form factor product-handling media (carriers, trays, etc.) for back end processes that can accurately and cost-effectively manage larger package sizes while also allowing for production flexibility.

Please contact Urmi Ray for additional questions.