Advancing Manufacturing Technology

Conformal Coating Evaluation for Improved Environmental Protection

     
Chair: Prabjit Singh
 
 

Co-Chair: Chen Xu

  Call-for-Participation Webinar
 


Session 1: For NA and EMEA time zones
Date: Monday, March 25, 2019
11:00 a.m. EDT (North America)
5:00 p.m. CET (Central Europe)
Click here to register

Session 2: For APAC
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
9:00 a.m. CST (China)  
10:00 a.m. JST (Japan) 
Click here to register 
 

Background 



Electronic hardware can be susceptible to corrosion and electrochemical migration (ECM) related failures in geographies with high concentrations of gaseous and particulate contamination. For electronics run in such environment, conformal coatings may be necessary to prevent corrosion of PCBs and the components mounted on them. Conformal coatings are currently tested by determining the time to failure of conformally coated surface-mounted resistors. While the test has been successful in ensuring use of very reliable resistors it has disadvantages such as non-representative testing environment. In addition, test duration can be many months, which is too long to be a practical test. Supply chain disruption to a manufacturing process requires a quick test.

iNEMI is launching a project to develop a conformal coating evaluation test based on quantitative measurement of diffusion of corrosive gases and moisture through the conformal coatings as a function of temperature and humidity in an environment containing sulfur and chlorines gases. Test duration is expected to be less than a week.