Advancing Manufacturing Technology

Event Calendar

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Webinar: Automotive Challenges Workshop Follow-Up

Start Date: 6/12/2018 11:00 AM EDT
End Date: 6/12/2018 12:00 PM EDT

Location:
United States 

11:00 a.m. - 12:00  p.m. EDT (North America)
4:00-5:00 p.m. BST (London)
5:00-6:00 p.m. CEST (Central Europe)


iNEMI led a panel session at SMTA’s Electronics Harsh Environments Conference in Amsterdam (April 24-26, 2018) entitled “Durability for Autonomous Vehicle Electronics – Meeting the Needs.” The panel discussed topics ranging from the impact that autonomous driving development will have on the traditional automotive manufacturing supply chain, to the need for new standards development and, of course, the requirements for higher levels of security. The longer use cycles expected of autonomous vehicles, where they could be running 24/7, as well as the electrification of such vehicles, has new implications for materials development and revision of traditional qualification methodologies.

Break-out sessions following the panel focused on three areas: (1) design needs for automotive electronics, (2) miniaturization and systems integration challenges, and (3) robustness validation for autonomous mission profiles.  

Key challenges identified in these sessions include:

  • Need to develop new models for use cycles of autonomous applications
  • The need to understand the physics of failure better and develop relevant testing methods
  • Packaging technologies migrating to PCB assembly
  • Impact of low standoff components on reliability and the need for cleaning
  • Requirements for coatings and encapsulants for miniaturization in automotive applications

The follow-up webinar scheduled for June 12 will discuss potential project areas arising from this successful session. 
 
Download the iNEMI presentation from the conference panel discussion held April 26, 2018.  


Registration
Register here for this webinar.


More Information
Steve Payne