BiSn-Based Low-Temperature Soldering Process and Reliability


 
 

Sign up by January 29, 2016

Project Leaders

Raiyo Aspandiar and Scott Mokler (Intel)

Call for Participation Webinars

Two call-for-participation webinars are scheduled for the convenience of global attendees. The webinars will introduce the project background, objectives, scope and plan, as well as the sign-up steps. If you are interested in this project, please register for the webinar that is most convenient for you. The webinar is free, but pre-registration is required for our organizational purposes. Once you are registered, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions for joining the meeting.
 
  • Asia and North America
    Wednesday, January 6, 2016 - 10:00 a.m. CST (China)
    Tuesday, January 5, 2016 - 6:00 p.m. PST; 9:00 p.m. EST (North America)
    Register here
     
  • North America and Europe
    Wednesday, January 13
    7:00 a.m. PST; 10:00 a.m. EST (North America)
    4:00 p.m. CET (Central Europe)
    11:00 p.m. CST (China)
    Register here 

Statement of Work and Project Statement

Background

Recently there have been some drivers from most ODMs and some OEMs to adopt low-temperature soldering for the assembly of consumer electronic products, such as cell phones, tablets and mobile computers. The motivations for these drivers have been three fold: environmental, economic and technical.

Solders in the BiSn system, particular compositions close to the eutectic (58wt% Bi) are prone to brittle fractures at high strain rates. This leads to a high risk of brittle fracture of BiSn-based solder joints under mechanical shock and drop conditions for electronic products. To mitigate this risk, solder paste manufacturers have explored two pathways. One is through the development of a more ductile metallurgy within the BiSn solder system, by reducing the bismuth content, and addition of elemental dopants, both of which enhance the solder bulk mechanical properties by modifying its microstructure. The other is through the incorporation of polymer resins in the solder paste, that, during the reflow soldering process, cures after the solder wets to the metallic surfaces of the board and the component, and forms a polymeric reinforcement around the solder joint after the assembly cools down. There is a sparse independent assessment of these two pathways, both in terms of the processibility of these new solder pastes and the reliability of the solder joints thus formed by their use.

Objective

The purpose of this project is to assess the surface mount processibility and reliability of the solder joints formed when enhanced BiSn-based solder pastes are used for assembling electronic components on printed circuit boards.

Steps for Joining the Project
Please note:  iNEMI membership is required to participate in this project.  Sign up by January 29, 2016.  Steps for joining the project follow.

For iNEMI members:

  • Complete and sign the project statement
  • Fax the completed statement(s) to +1 (703) 834-2735 or scan and email to infohelp@inemi.org
For non-members:

For Additional Information

Haley Fu
haley.fu@inemi.org